Becoming Bogan

bogan with smoke black and white

Labels get thrown around fairly free and easy in this life.

I’m sure you have categorized or been categorized by others on many occasions during your time on earth.

The first time I felt my category change in an emotionally confronting way, was when I quit my career to move to a new city and start a business with my friend.

I had to take up a cleaning job to pay the bills. Going from corporate sophisticated/ laptop toting garb to dressing like a teenager and scrubbing walls was by no means emotionally easy… especially the way that people looked at and treated me so entirely differently to what I was used to. I eventually got back to wearing court shoes and and carrying laptop cases from office to office, but little did I know…

bogan smoking

I was only to repeat the mortifying category shift experience again.

Only this time in a new country, where nobody really knew who I was or what I’d done in the past… and only had my current circumstances to judge me by.

Imagine your own flat mate hiding the wine glasses from you!

(yes this actually happened) as she assumed my occasional glass of an evening was a 24 hour a day habit due to my (at the time) unemployed status.

bogan with alcohol

And this is even before moving to a street that even the real estate agent seemed afraid of.

A lovely street where dogs run loose, the sound of neighborhood swearing carries throughout the suburb and tales of resident’s unsavory pastimes seem only the norm.

stolen

The vibe was so foreign to me at first, and altogether terrifying to be honest.

But as time goes on, I have made peace (in part) to the situation and hence the hoodie and ripped jeans (below photo – when in Rome, right?). Let it be acknowledged though, that the wine bottle is all for show, despite what my ex-flatmate might try to insinuate. God knows I wish I could say the same for the cigarette…

becomingbogan2

Diverse

Published by

Frankie Lass

I want to inspire the rekindling of imaginary worlds. I want to nurture mad little monsters that have been starved of their need to create.

2 thoughts on “Becoming Bogan”

  1. as i frantically lewk fer a smoke now only to realize i am all out an town is 20 miles away lol… so will have to settle w/out ……grrrr yes hard to quit indeed. fer me anyhew …..but living miles out like this does help me cut back…mind don’t like it but the body prolly appreciates it … 🙂 enjoyin’ ur artwerk…….an ur post-it werld… Luv ur stylee.an ur characterZ 🙂 very kewl yes indeed! 🙂 . over an out till next time ! Q

    Like

Leave a Reply

