Experiment: Allan Carr’s Quit Smoking

Allan Carr claims that, despite what most smokers believe, quitting smoking is EASY

smoking in the country

Allan’s book challenged and changed a lot of my perceptions around cigarette smoking. It re-established the hope I had lost at ever being free of the destructive addiction of nicotine slavery.

Your Fears are founded on a myth

He instructs you to continue smoking while reading the book and that you must not stop until you have completed the book in its entirety. Before I was even nearly finished, my fear of quitting had turned to excitement, a massive achievement all in itself right?

feeling sad in the countryside without a cigarette

The sad reality for me though — is the excitement didn’t last.

The fist 24-48 hours were easy, it did feel like a miracle. But once the first craving came, there were more. I could feel the precise moment that the ease of not smoking gave way to the mental struggle of will power against will power.

The excitement turned to a feeling of deprivation followed by extreme emotional crashing and burning.

removal of that black shadow

Allan Carr himself mentioned that as soon as quitting  becomes about willpower, you face certain  torture and your chances of success rapidly plummet.

smoking hurts and allans book

I re-read the book three times, each time following the pattern of  excitement, hope, deprivation, crash and burn. Each attempt ending in the buying of a desperate pack of cigarettes and chain smoking them all night.

 Am I free?

… not really.

Despite the eye opening points of view that Allen expressed in his book, I could not remove the core beliefs that kept me coming back to the ranks of the ash zombies.
Happy Endings

Published by

Frankie Lass

I want to inspire the rekindling of imaginary worlds. I want to nurture mad little monsters that have been starved of their need to create.

2 thoughts on “Experiment: Allan Carr’s Quit Smoking”

  1. I would love to run again… I had been putting off using the E cigarette, so thank you for the motivation! I hope I will be able to say the same soon 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

